Old Lighthouse Museum
Hired by the Stonington Historical Society in 2012, OEA is in the process of completing a design for the rehabilitation of the Old Lighthouse Museum in Stonington, CT. Built in 1840 and on the National Register of Historic Places, the gem-like, load-bearing stone structure has operated as a local history museum for the past ninety years and is now in need of significant restoration and repair. Long-term preservation of the lighthouse is the key institutional goal, as are upgrades to the museum’s climate control systems and the addition of an accessible museum entry and public restroom. Organized by a network of new pathways and low stone retaining walls, a reinvented public entry sequence leads visitors from the street to a new entrance pavilion located on the back side of the historic structure. This new, 800 square foot addition overlooking Fishers Island Sound accommodates a new info/ticketing desk, a small museum store, public restrooms and lead-in exhibits which explain the history of the lighthouse. Inside the lighthouse proper, restoration efforts center on the preservation and rehabilitation of historically-significant materials, as well as full replacement of damaged or diseased building elements.